The Martian by Andy Weir- book review

the-martian-book-cover-530x806

I enjoyed this book. It was an easy book to read. I don’t read sci-fi, they can get a bit too ‘technicy’ and I get lost among the photons and thermal anodes instead of getting lost in the story. With this book I was on Mars.

The Martian is not just a sci-fi novel, its also an adventure. Mark Watney, a NASA astronaut, is presumed dead by his crew mates and abandoned on Mars. With limited food, water, and life support systems he has to survive until the next Mars mission which is 3 years away. It sounds implausible. NASA doesn’t declare a astronaut dead without good cause only to for him to be resurrected, even I know that, but the author creates a plausible explanation and keeps the science simple. How accurate it was I don’t know, I’m a writer not a scientist.

The whole story is told through log entry’s, interviews, snippets of conversations and messages. I like this style of writing. Some people don’t. There’s not much room for lengthy descriptions or in depth character back stories but I still like it. I can read it in short bursts without losing my place or having to read to the end of a chapter. Great if you have a busy week and only 10 minutes to spare.

The author keeps the pace up throughout the novel as one problem after another crops up for our hero Mark Watney. I didn’t know if he was going to survive. I really wanted him to live, he’s a funny guy. His humour and optimism in the face of dire situations made him likable and brought him to life. I wish I could say the same for the other characters in the book, I think the author divested everything he had into his main character. The characters at mission control all sounded the same and were interchangeable. Without name tags I had no idea who was who. Mark Watneys crew mates were marginally better but I couldn’t connect to them, maybe because they didn’t get much ‘page time’ till the end.

I did enjoy this book but I don’t think it would be one I would read again and again. Some books have hidden depths which emerge with each reading, I don’t think this is one of them. But that doesn’t stop it from being a good read. I’d give it 3.5 out of 5.

Leave a comment

Filed under book review

Leave a Reply

